DNA Testing for Genealogy 101

Standard

DNAeXplained - Genetic Genealogy

When I first began as a surname administrator for the Estes project, more than a decade ago, I wrote an “intro” basics document for anyone who might be interested in testing.  This saved me from having to repeat myself again and again.  I believe this is the 8th version of that document.  Genetic genealogy keeps changing, for the better, with more tests and tools available, so more to explain.

When the National Genealogical Society asked me to write an introductory article for them, which turned into a series, I decided that I’d use the opportunity to update my intro article.  People have asked if they can send this article to people themselves.  Absolutely, in fact, I’ve made it easy for you.  On my website, www.dnaexplain.com, under the Publications tab, with lots of other good stuff, you’ll find a pdf version of this document.  Feel free to…

View original post 3,407 more words

Leave a Reply

